Documentation

All the information you need in one place

How to migrate the calendar to a new site

Here we explain what to take into account if you plan to migrate a website (including Nelio Content) into a new one.

Before You Start…

The Nelio Content calendar shows the content on your WordPress site. In other words, if you install Nelio Content on a new site, you’ll see all your post automatically.

However, social messages and tasks are all stored in our cloud. Our plugin accesses this information using a couple of wp_options that identify your site uniquely: nc_site_id and nc_api_secret. In addition, social messages and tasks linked to a post are linked to the post via the ID of that post.

Therefore, keep in mind that in order to migrate all old and scheduled messages and tasks and have it work as expected, you will need the post IDs on the new site to be the same as on the old site.

In case you cannot keep the IDs from your original site and you have new post IDs, then you will not be able to migrate your social messages and tasks and you will have to recreate them on your new site. See more details at the end of this page.

Export your calendar as a backup

Before moving your data, make sure you do a backup of your current content, social messages and task by exporting your editorial calendar in CSV format. This way you can more easily retrieve information in case there is a problem or you can more easily recreate messages and tasks if necessary.

Method 1. Migration while keeping post IDs

Copy your settings to the new site

To move all Nelio Conten’s data to the new site, and assuming you can the keep the post IDs of your old site, all you have to do is:

  1. Copy nc_site_id and nc_api_secret, as well as all nc_* options.
  2. Copy the nelio-content_settings option.
  3. Move all nc_reference post types.
  4. Move all nc_task_preset post types.
  5. Deactivate the plugin from the old site (without deleting any data, because you want all data to be available in the new site).

And that’s it! From our cloud’s perspective, this new site is like the old site, so you’ll have access to all the relevant information.

Delete your profiles and license from the old site

Once you have moved all your settings, just follow these steps:

  1. Delete all the profiles in the old site.
  2. Copy the license you have in your Account somewhere safe so that you have it handy when you need to paste it into the new site and delete it from this old site.
  3. Deactivate the plugin in the old setup and, on the popup it opens, select the option “Delete Nelio Content’s data and deactivate plugin”

Note that the old site is downgraded from premium to free. Free sites have no tasks, single profiles per network, etc, so this downgrade means that any premium features are permanently removed.

Activate your license on the new site

Now, just paste the license you have saved into the Account page of the new site and you will see all the information you have migrated from the old site.

Note that if your new site has been identified as a staging site, you cant use any of Nelio Content’s features but you can modify this setting by following the steps described here.

Method 2. Recreating your info

In case you cannot keep the IDs from your original site and you have new post IDs, then you will not be able to manually recreate all your social messages and tasks on your new site. The CSV file you downloaded at the start of the migration process will help you.

You’ll also have to export all your template/automation groups from the old site so that you can import them back into your new site. And don’t forget to move your nc_task_presets as well.

Once you have all the data available, deactivate the plugin in the old setup and, on the popup it opens, select the option “Delete Nelio Content’s data and deactivate plugin.” Then, use the license in your new site, re-connect the profiles, and re-create all your data.