Social Automations is a powerful feature by Nelio Content that allows you to automatically generate social messages.
On the one hand, it includes the Automatic Content Promotion automatism. After typing a post, press the button Customize Timeline in the Social Media box under the post and automatically generate the messages that will promote that post.
On the other hand, there is the Reshare old content automation, where the editorial calendar of Nelio Content will automatically generate those social messages that will promote the best existing content of your blog.
Enable/Disable automation in social profiles
Automations can be enabled or disabled for each social profile connected to Nelio Content.
To do this, if you have selected a High, Medium or Low frequency of automatic publication, it’s as easy as clicking the Publication or Reshare icons that are at the right of each social profile in the list of Connected Profiles of Settings » Social Profiles
In this way, we make sure that only messages for those selected profiles will be generated.
By default, social profiles have enabled the Automatic content promotion automatism and disabled the Reshare old content automation.
Alternatively, you can also indicate that the frequency will be customized for each of the created profiles.
In this is the case, you must indicate for each profile:
- the number of social messages you want to be generated to promote each post that is published (enter the number in the first field at the right of the social profile), and
- the maximum number of social messages you want to be published in each profile to re-share old content (enter the number in the second field at the right of the social profile).
Global Automatic Sharing
You can also indicate what you want to be the default behavior regarding automations, in the Advanced tab of the plugin’s Settings, by selecting:
- Includes all posts, unless you indicate otherwise. Nelio Content may share any post on your blog, except those that you’ve explicitly excluded from the reshare process.
- Excludes all posts, unless you indicate otherwise. The opposite from the previous setting. That is, by default, Nelio Content will not share anything, except those posts you’ve explicitly marked as reshareable.
- End sharing period for old content: by default Nelio Content never stops sharing old content, but you can also select from the drop-down if you want to stop sharing content once it’s one month, two months, three months, six months or one year old.
Enable/Disable automatism of a post
Finally, you can customize the automatic message generation settings individually, regardless of what you have defined globally. At the end of a post, in the Social Media section, there are the Social Settings that you can specify individually for said post.
You can indicate the post’s sharing end period once published.
Therefore, even if you generally want all old content to be re-shared in the future, this setting allows you to specify that a certain post should only be shared for a specific period of time.
So, for example, if a new post talks about something new, like a special offer for a couple of days that only makes sense to promote it at the time it is published, you can prevent that content from being promoted again in the future automatically in social networks.