How to Revive Your Old Posts With Nelio Content

Online Marketing

Are you a WordPress enthusiast? If you are, then you need to take a look at our new plugin–Nelio Content. There's so many things you can do without leaving your Dashboard ever… Discover them all!

Vintage products are back. The clothes your parents used to wear to go out? Back in fashion! It’s the circle of life, I guess. And your website is no exception.

If you’ve been writing on a blog for some time now, you certainly have a few diamonds in your post archives. But those diamonds no longer shine as they used to. Not because they don’t have enough quality. They are buried under all your new content. Your visitors don’t find them as easily as they used to, but their content is still valid and useful today.

Bringing a new life to your old content is something that you should do. Otherwise you are wasting your time. For sure, in the past you worked hard to write that content, reviewed sources, referenced other quality articles, and created a very interesting piece of information. If so (which I don’t doubt), why don’t you keep promoting it on your channels? And yes, I mean your social networks.

If the answer to this question is the typical “my days don’t have enough hours to be able to do everything I want“, today I’ll explain you how to do it thanks to the WordPress plugin Nelio Content. After reading this article I’m sure you’ll have no excuse to effortlessly share your old content on social media.

Resurrecting Your Old Content Thanks to Nelio Content

Nelio Content is a WordPress plugin that helps you simplify the entire editorial process of content generation and promotion. Basically, it saves you time on most tedious tasks to get more visits with your blog content.

Just set it up and you’re done–most things work out of the box. But back to the topic of the article, let’s see how to get Nelio Content ready to share your old content on your social networks on its own.

The process has 2 different parts. First we’ll connect the social profiles where we want the content to end up being shared and then we’ll configure what content we want to be shared there.

Connecting Social Profiles to Promote Your Old Content

Nelio Content allows you to connect your social profiles to WordPress. Thanks to this you can set up everything and configure in which profiles you want to share the old content of your blog.

To connect a social profile just go to Nelio Content‘s Settings and click on the Social Profiles tab. In this tab you’ll find the list of profiles you have previously connected and the possibility to connect new ones by clicking on the social network icon just below the list.

In the Social Profiles tab of Nelio Content you can see the profiles you have connected and add new ones.
In the Social Profiles tab of Nelio Content you can see the profiles you have connected and add new ones.

Once you click on the social network you want, you will be asked to give Nelio Content permission to publish on your behalf. After doing so, you will already have the profile connected and it will appear in the list along with the others.

The important thing here is to activate the sharing of old content in that profile. To do so just click on the “circle with a dot” icon (next to the megaphone):

Activate the feature to reshare old content by clicking a button on your social profile.
Activate the feature to reshare old content by clicking a button on your social profile.

For example, in the screenshot above we enabled social resharing for our company’s Twitter, Google Plus, and Facebook profiles. But you can do whatever you want according to the audience you have.

Selecting What Content We Want to Share Again

When you have the social profiles ready to share old content, you have to decide which content you want to share again. Returning to the Nelio Content Settings, if you go to the Advanced tab you will see the Social Behavior section that includes the option to indicate if you want all the posts to be shared or only the ones you indicate.

In Nelio Content you can select if you want to share by default all your blog posts or just the ones you indicate.
In Nelio Content you can select if you want to share by default all your blog posts or just the ones you indicate.

The first option allows you to share all posts in the profiles selected before. The second option, on the other hand, excludes all posts from the re-sharing process. However, keep in mind that in each post you can then individually choose if you want it to be shared or not, so in the end you have the option to specify what you want.

If you (like us) have hundreds of posts and don’t want all of them to be shared (only those selected for that purpose), you will have to go one by one and select those you want to share again. You can do this in two ways…

On the one hand, you can edit each post individually. Just go to the edit screen and in the Social Media box indicate whether you want the post to be shared or not, as you see in the following screenshot:

In the Social Media box you can indicate whether the post you are editing is shared or not.
In the Social Media box you can indicate whether the post you are editing is shared or not.

Or you can switch the behavior of several posts at once. Just go to the list of WordPress posts and there you’ll see a new Reshare column that tells you if the post is going to be reshared or not.

In the list of posts you can see the Reshare column.
In the list of posts you can see the Reshare column.

Select the posts that you want to reshare (or those you want to exclude from resharing, depending on your global setting) and go to the bulk actions and choose edit. The quick editing of the posts will appear and there you will see the option to change the reshare behavior of all the selected posts at once. This is the fastest way to proceed. And it won’t take you that long. We, with hundreds of posts, were able to select the ones we wanted to stop resharing in a few minutes by browsing the list of posts.

And with this you will have everything ready. Keep in mind that the algorithm that generates social messages to reshare old content runs on a daily basis to create these messages by filling in the following days of your calendar. You can see these messages in the editorial calendar (they have the text in italics) and modify them as you please (if you want to).

Final Remarks

In this blog you’ve been reading for a while now we’ve configured Nelio Content to share our old posts. Old posts are being shared meaningfully and this continues bringing us visits to content that would otherwise be abandoned, when in fact is still valid and interesting.

My recommendation is that if you have a blog with old content that makes sense to share in networks, don’t stop doing it. If you don’t want to pay for this feature, you can always use a free option to do so. But do it, because you will see the results in your analytics.

Featured image by Matthew Bennett via Unsplash.

PoorMehGoodVery GoodAwesome! (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

by

Antonio obtained his PhD in Computer Science at UPC. He has several publications in the field of data mining and information retrieval applied to conceptual modeling and health informatics. He specialized in the design, development, and integration of web services and cloud applications. He's an active contributor to the WordPress community and participates in meetups, seminars and WordCamps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I have read and agree to the Nelio Software Privacy Policy

Your personal data will be located on SiteGround and will be treated by Nelio Software with the sole purpose of publishing this comment here. The legitimation is carried out through your express consent. Contact us to access, rectify, limit, or delete your data.